Don’t let Fast Romantics just be Pretty Strangers

Fast Romantics are making huge waves out here in Toronto. Already having done so well in Calgary they uprooted to call Toronto their new home and I am so glad they did. I’ve already done an album review for them (which they’ll be having their album release party on April 15th at Wrongbar if my memory serves me correctly.) They were among one of a few bands I got to see more than once over the span of Canadian Music Week this year and I’m so glad I did.

Anyone who missed that set missed out on what I think is going to be a rare occurence. Fast Romantics played an ACOUSTIC set for the radio show. It was the same set they played for MTV just last week consisting of “Cool Kids” , “Funeral” and “Pretty Strangers”. It sounded really beautiful, and VERY different from their normal fare. I loved it and wish I could see it again, but at the same time nothing compares to the roaring energy they bring to the stage.

One of the first things most people notice when going to see Fast Romantics live is the giant sign with their name right behind Alan (drummer). It brings a unique attention to them and adds to their flare altogether. Their tunes are ridiculously infections I can’t even explain it. Ever since I heard them play live the first time I catch myself humming and singing their tunes while walking down the street. One of my favourite songs that they play live that I don’t think I’ll ever get over the fact that the recording just doesn’t have the same oomph is “How Do you?”. Go see them live if you don’t believe me. 😉

Their other set for CMW was at NEU+RAL Lounge which was a very bizarre place for the show and it was sadly an early set. That didn’t stop their friends and fans from showing up to see them. I was up front at the stage rocking out joined by Matt of Secret Broadcast and most of the audience was singing along to the catchy harmonies that Jeff (bassist) and Laurna (keyboardist) belt out. Including at one point the entire audience clapping along to a slightly more complex beat than most bands would present.

John kept the guitar going strong throughout the entire set, which was great. Especially when Matthew (singer) puts down his guitar to play the tambourine, or the glockenspiel, or the keyboards alongside Laurna, or even when he climbs off stage to dance about through the audience and play tambourine.

Fast Romantics have such energy and sound so strong all the time. You can tell they practice their songs over and over to make sure they’re perfect and they obviously have fun doing it. Currently they’re making the trek down to SXSW and I wish I was there to see it. They will be back in their Toronto home soon enough and you can bet I’ll go out to the shows foot stomping along to the beat Alan lays down and singing along at the top of my lungs.

Photos courtesy of Rachel Lee Tentcher. You can see the rest of the set on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

